Mt. Healthy Seniors Earn Coordinating Council Scholarships for College

What is every college student need to take with them to college in the fall? You guessed it, money! Sixteen Mt. Healthy High School Seniors have earned scholarships through Mt. Healthy’s Coordinating Council that will go toward their college tuition. The students were recognized on Monday, May 14, at a special Coordinating Council Ceremony with the students receiving scholarships totaling $29,000.


The Coordinating Council is an independent, volunteer organization serving the Mt. Healthy City School District since 1981. The organization raises money throughout the year with a golf outing, Golf-A Rama, and generous donors like Stu Griffing, Joseph Epplen, David Horine, Richard Wendt, an adult men’s basketball team, and the Mt. Healthy Staff. Dr. Reva Cosby, Mt. Healthy Superintendent stated about the opportunities for students, “I am extremely proud of the amount of effort the staff puts into raising funds to support the Coordinating Council’s two activities, Sharing Tree and the Scholarships. They do this as a benefit to Mt. Healthy students and families.” The Scholarship program’s goal is to help college-bound students with financial assistance.  The program is run by its officers and other volunteers.  Mark Walden and Don Hering are co-chairs, Richard Wendt is the Treasurer, and Karen O’Connell is the Secretary.



The following students received Coordinating Council Scholarships which result in $500 toward their tuition:


Jada Hamner, Skyler Williams, and Kavon Bradley


The following students received the Mt. Healthy Staff Scholarship $3,000 and $2500 respectively toward their tuition:  Derrick Sanders Jr. and Taryn Smith




The following students received named scholarships with the amounts included:


Mt. Healthy Adult Basketball Scholarship - Ariel Powell      $1500


David Horine Family Scholarship – Helen Chu                      $1500 –

In honor of former superintendent who Dave was the primary leader of the project to build our new schools.


Joseph Epplen Scholarship – Jierre Franklin                        $1500

In honor of former principal and superintendent from 1986-1998, who made a strong impact on the district through his development of students and strong curriculum.


Ruth Griffing Memorial Scholarship – Makayla Pratt            $1500

In memory of Ruth Griffing, a dedicated volunteer and supporter of Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Wendt Family Scholarship – Mariah Baumer                         $1500

In memory of Pat Wendt, a committed volunteer and legacy in the Coordinating Council. She ran the program with Ruth Griffing for years.  Dick Wendt continues to support for the Wendt Family Scholarship.


Joyce Hauer Memorial Scholarship – Aaron Wesley           $2000

In memory of a beloved and devoted teacher Joyce (Bloom) Hauer from Greener Elementary and New Burlington Elementary Schools. Her family hopes the scholarship continues to show the love Joyce had for the Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Teri Phillips Memorial Scholarship – Daniel Han                  $2000

In memory of a treasured English / Language Arts teacher in the Mt. Healthy City School District for 22 years. She was a tireless advocate for her students, encouraging hard work and preparation for college.


David Bechtel Memorial Scholarship Elijah Poston          $2000

In memory of our former treasurer from 1985 to 1991. Dave spent thirty years in education and retired as a Superintendent from northern Ohio prior to coming to Mt. Healthy. Dave’s legacy is the foundation of scholarships developed from the Golf-a-Rama Scholarship Fund that raises money for on-going scholarships every year.


Bert Barnes Memorial Scholarship – Brandon Hernandez                       $2000

In memory of cherished former longtime staff member and the Assistant Superintendent in Mt. Healthy City Schools. He passed away in 1982 from Lou Gehrig disease.


Ethel Frost Memorial Scholarship –      Maria Boehl                          $3500

 Gelanni Jones                     $3000

In memory of former high school English & Latin teacher and the Zem Zem advisor.  Ethel Frost Elementary was named after her on September 5, 1965, and a wing of our North Elementary building is named for her. She left a large amount of money to the Coordinating Council to start a scholarship program which now supports the Ethel Frost Scholarships.