Mt. Healthy High School Seniors Earn Coordinating Council Scholarships for College

Following a tradition of 38 years, 14 Mt. Healthy High School Seniors have earned scholarships through Mt. Healthy’s Coordinating Council. The money will go toward their college tuition. The students were recognized on Monday, May 13, at a special Coordinating Council Ceremony with the students receiving scholarships totaling $29,000.

The Coordinating Council is an independent, volunteer organization serving the Mt. Healthy City School District since 1981. The organization raises money throughout the year with a golf outing, Golf-A Rama, and generous donors like Stu Griffing, Joseph Epplen, David Horine, Richard Wendt, an adult men’s basketball team, and the Mt. Healthy City School Staff. “The Coordinating Council provides our students with scholarships to ensure they can pursue their higher education goals. We are grateful for what they do to assist our students,” stated Dr. Reva Cosby, Mt. Healthy City Schools Superintendent about the opportunities for students. The scholarship program’s goal is to help college bound students with financial assistance to pursue their dreams through post-secondary education. The program is run by its officers and other volunteers; Mark Walden and Don Hering are co-chairs, Richard Wendt is the Treasurer, and Karen O’Connell is the Secretary.

The following students received the Mt. Healthy City School Staff Scholarship $3,000 and $2500 respectively toward their tuition:  Devin Walker and Morgan Leflore

The following students received named scholarships with the amounts included:

Mt. Healthy Adult Basketball Scholarship - Starla Wright $1500         

David Horine Family Scholarship – Maurice Smith            $1500

In honor of former superintendent who Dave was the primary leader of the project to build our new schools.


Joseph Epplen Scholarship – Christopher Rosemen        $1500

In honor of former principal and superintendent from 1986-1998, who made a strong impact on the district through his development of students and strong curriculum.


Ruth Griffing Memorial Scholarship – Ananda Pitts          $1500

In memory of Ruth Griffing, a dedicated volunteer and supporter of Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Wendt Family Scholarship – Leeonte Young                     $1500

In memory of Pat Wendt, a committed volunteer and legacy in the Coordinating Council. She ran the program with Ruth Griffing for years. Dick Wendt continues to support for the Wendt Family Scholarship.


Fraternal Order of Eagles - Jasmine Dumas                      $2000

The Fraternal Order of Eagles is an international non-profit organization uniting fraternally in the spirit of liberty, truth, justice, and equality, to make human life more desirable by lessening its ills and promoting peace, prosperity, gladness and hope.  They donate more than $10 million a year to local communities, fundraisers, and charities.

Joyce Hauer Memorial Scholarship –  Margarita Hernandez Nicasio   $2000

In memory of a beloved and devoted teacher Joyce (Bloom) Hauer from Greener Elementary and New Burlington Elementary Schools. Her family hopes the scholarship continues to show the love Joyce had for the Mt. Healthy City Schools.


Teri Phillips Memorial Scholarship – LaKala Evans                    $2000

In memory of a treasured English / Language Arts teacher in the Mt. Healthy City School District for 22 years. She was a tireless advocate for her students, encouraging hard work and preparation for college.


David Bechtel Memorial Scholarship Paige Washburn   $2000

In memory of our former treasurer from 1985 to 1991. Dave spent thirty years in education and retired as a Superintendent from northern Ohio prior to coming to Mt. Healthy. Dave’s legacy is the foundation of scholarships developed from the Golf-a-Rama Scholarship Fund that raises money for on-going scholarships every year.


Bert Barnes Memorial Scholarship – Evan Edwards         $2000

In memory of cherished former long time staff member and the Assistant Superintendent in Mt. Healthy City Schools. He passed away in 1982 from Lou Gehrig disease.

Ethel Frost Memorial Scholarship – Gilbert Hernandez     $3500

        Sandy Trinh             $2500

In memory of former high school English & Latin teacher and the Zem Zem advisor.  Ethel Frost Elementary was named after her on September 5, 1965, and a wing of our North Elementary building is named for her. She left a large amount of money to the Coordinating Council to start a scholarship program which now supports the Ethel Frost Scholarships.